Martin County DUI/DWI Attorneys
Defending Your Rights in Jupiter & the Surrounding Areas
In Florida, any driver who is deprived of their normal faculties is considered to be under the influence of a substance. Additionally, any driver with a blood alcohol level (BAC) of .o8% or more is guilty of driving under the influence (DUI). A DUI or DWI conviction can have a negative impact on the way you go about your daily life. With a attorney from Deckard, Kofsky & Clark, LLC by your side, you can rest assured that you will receive fair and aggressive legal representation.
Schedule your appointment with our Stuart DUI attorneys by calling us at (772) 238-7231.
Implied Consent & Refusing to Take a Blood or Breath Test
Florida laws state that all drivers arrested for a DUI/DWI must consent to a chemical test of their blood, breath, or urine to determine the presence of drugs or alcohol. If people refuse to submit to this implied consent law, they may have their license revoked for up to 1 year and an 18-month revocation for any other refusals.
The fact that the driver refused the test could be used against them during their trial to prove their guilt. Drivers with prior convictions who refuse a test may be charged with a misdemeanor and face a fine not exceeding $1,000 and/or up to 1 year in jail.
Penalties for DUI/DWI Convictions
The penalties for this type of conviction are governed by the number of prior convictions and the circumstances surrounding the incident.
Penalties might include:
- 1st Offense: 1-year probation, 50 hours of community service, a 10-day vehicle impoundment, up to 6 months in jail, a fine between $500 and $1,000, and/or 180 days to 1 year in jail
- 2nd Offense: if this occurs within 5 years of a previous conviction, the judge will order the defendant a 10 days to 5 years of license revocation, 30-day vehicle impoundment, up to 9 months in jail, a fine between $1,000 to $2,000, and 180 days to 1 year license revocation (if the offense occurred more than 5 years after the first conviction)
- 3rd Offense or Greater: if this occurs within 10 years of previous convictions, the judge will order the defendant to lose their license for 10 years, 30 days to 5 years in jail, a 90 day vehicle impoundment, a fine between $2,000 and $4,000, and a license revocation from 180 days to 1 year (if the offense occurred more than 10 years after the prior convictions)
Drivers under the age of 21 cannot have a BAC exceeding .02%. However, since the offenders are young, a violation is not considered a criminal offense and might result in a 6-month license suspension as well as enrollment in a DUI education program.
If You Have Been Arrested for a DUI/DWI, Contact Our Firm ASAP.
Deckard, Kofsky & Clark, LLC will go over all your legal options with you and create a strategy that works best for your situation. Our DUI lawyers in Stuart understand the legal complexities of your situation and will stop at nothing to obtain to a positive outcome.
“Mr. Deckard who is a former police officer saw through the lies and fought hard to keep me out of prison.”- Former Client
“I was in a difficult marriage and needed a lawyer who was able to help me through the divorce and protect my kids. Mr. Kofsky was ...”- R. Sessions
“Martin Kofsky represented me in an ugly divorce last year. I picked him because he was smart and tough...”- M. Moran